to join the CVG community. Not a member yet? Join now!
CVG

Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Your comments on our articles.

Ex-art director claims sequel had Mayan past

Assassin's Creed 2 was nearly set in Mayan-era Aztec, according to an ex-Ubisoft art director.... read more

Moderators : CVG Staff, CVG Moderators

Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby KMakawa » 28 Sep 2010, 14:15

APRIL FOOLS!!!!

No but seriously, ..It wouldn't of worked. -.-
Image
Community Coordinator.
Artist & Website Designer.
User avatar
KMakawa 64
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2687
Joined: 28 Oct 2007, 01:39
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: T0TAL fps
Steam: T0TALfps
Battle.net: PMforit@
xFire: iArctic

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby Conkers » 28 Sep 2010, 14:27

KMakawa wrote:APRIL FOOLS!!!!

No but seriously, ..It wouldn't of worked. -.-


I don’t know, the Mayans had some pretty big cities, you could have been leaping off the side of Chichen Itza or Coba, or countless other massive settlements. It could have been set leading up to the Conquistadors invading, and the Mayans sure loved their killing…
Conkers 52
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: 31 Jul 2008, 21:56
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: I'mnottellingyou
PSN ID: notgotoneyet
Wii Code: 1110010101010101010

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby KMakawa » 28 Sep 2010, 14:31

Conkers wrote:
KMakawa wrote:APRIL FOOLS!!!!

No but seriously, ..It wouldn't of worked. -.-


I don’t know, the Mayans had some pretty big cities, you could have been leaping off the side of Chichen Itza or Coba, or countless other massive settlements. It could have been set leading up to the Conquistadors invading, and the Mayans sure loved their killing…


But in terms of how the story plot and character designs would play out, it would be pretty aweful, and 60/70% would of had to take part within the real world, rather then the animus because of it lol.
Can you really envisage a assassin wearing the creed-esque clothing styles in a Mayan setting?, what would he wear? O.o
Image
Community Coordinator.
Artist & Website Designer.
User avatar
KMakawa 64
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2687
Joined: 28 Oct 2007, 01:39
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: T0TAL fps
Steam: T0TALfps
Battle.net: PMforit@
xFire: iArctic

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby Conkers » 28 Sep 2010, 14:42

KMakawa wrote:
But in terms of how the story plot and character designs would play out, it would be pretty aweful, and 60/70% would of had to take part within the real world, rather then the animus because of it lol.
Can you really envisage a assassin wearing the creed-esque clothing styles in a Mayan setting?, what would he wear? O.o


Why would it all have to take place in the real world? If it had a different setting then surely it would have had a different story as well that fit the story better. And some Mayan shamans were adorned in hooded dress rather than the usual headdresses so it’s not that hard to conceive.

I liked the Renaissance setting but a Mayan one could have been very interesting!
Conkers 52
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: 31 Jul 2008, 21:56
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: I'mnottellingyou
PSN ID: notgotoneyet
Wii Code: 1110010101010101010

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby KK-Headcharge78 » 28 Sep 2010, 14:43

It's a big world is 'almost', a big word indeed....
Image

Image
User avatar
KK-Headcharge78 62
 
Posts: 5317
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 13:47
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: Bison VS Mario
PSN ID: slypuss7881

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby frazzerr » 28 Sep 2010, 15:05

If Ubisoft picked the Aztec setting they would of made it worked because I don't see them making a game which wouldn't work within the series. It's an interesting idea but the setting of the Renaissance was more in keeping with the series.
frazzerr 44
 
Posts: 244
Joined: 12 Aug 2009, 14:10
Location: United Kingdom
PSN ID: frazzerr_1

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby JammyJames » 28 Sep 2010, 15:14

Well we know what the setting will be for number 3 now.
User avatar
JammyJames 44
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 15 May 2010, 21:13
Location: United Kingdom
PSN ID: BIGJ99

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby BenThomasFoster » 28 Sep 2010, 16:18

Why are people complaining about why assassins creed would not work is aztec seetting ofcourse it would in terms of story conquiserdors and aztec would be amazing ect... the game play mechanics woud have to be different but the setting would make one BEAUTIFUL game, the style would be amazing and brutal, the story could have millions of twists... makes me want an alternate history aztec winning against spanish. spanish taking terrible diesease back to old world aztec get ship building tecnololgy and take over the europe!
- I troll without realising it
- Don't listen to a word I say
User avatar
BenThomasFoster 49
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 01:50
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Assassin's Creed 2 almost had Aztec setting

Postby KMakawa » 29 Sep 2010, 10:43

Really, you think I was complaining?

I couldn't help but laugh at that opinion. :)
Image
Community Coordinator.
Artist & Website Designer.
User avatar
KMakawa 64
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2687
Joined: 28 Oct 2007, 01:39
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: T0TAL fps
Steam: T0TALfps
Battle.net: PMforit@
xFire: iArctic


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Skipstream and 4 guests

The forum teamDelete all forum cookiesAll times are UTC [ DST ]