Quake 4 Save Problem

Go here for multiplatform games discussion, past and present

Moderators : CVG Staff, CVG Moderators

Quake 4 Save Problem

Postby User removed » 05 Feb 2006, 16:06

Has anybody else had any problems saving Quake 4? I'm now on the final level and every time I try to save the game the whole console locks up and has to be restarted losing my progress at the same time!? I've noticed both the loading and saving getting longer and longer as i've got towards the end of the game, but not being able to at all is ridiculous.

Anyone else had the same problem? :(
User removed
 

Postby Majin Chris » 05 Feb 2006, 17:23

I just finished Quake 4 last monday and i never had any problems with my saved files. To be honest they really need to get a patch out for this game as it's got alot of problems.
XBL - Majin Chris PSN - MajinChrissy
Catch my tweets @Chrissycharisma
Aka y2cplan joined 29 Sep 2001
Image
Majin Chris 51
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 03 Jan 2006, 13:43
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: Majin Chris
PSN ID: Majinchrissy

Postby User removed » 05 Feb 2006, 18:47

What problems?
User removed
 

Postby Chaos10 » 05 Feb 2006, 19:53

It's that conspiracy again I'm telling ya!
Make it idiot proof and they'll make a better idiot.

Gamertag: ChaosResolution
User avatar
Chaos10 46
 
Posts: 259
Joined: 05 Nov 2004, 13:44
Location: Ireland

Postby creamerybutter » 05 Feb 2006, 20:11

Nope, no problems here.
Please note the views expressed in this post do not necessarily reflect the views of creamerybutter Ltd.
User avatar
creamerybutter 74
 
Posts: 7143
Joined: 27 Feb 2002, 00:45
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: creamerybutter
PSN ID: iratefishmonger
Wii Code: U-iratefishmonger

Postby User removed » 05 Feb 2006, 20:19

Well its really p**sed me off. I'm on the last level and cannot finish the game because when it gets to the autosave part, the machine locks up!

I've either got a dodgy disc (no scratches on it though), or my save is on a bad section of the hard disk.

I wouldn't mind if I had another saved game to try but I haven't! :(
User removed
 

Postby Majin Chris » 10 Feb 2006, 09:59

Here's a help topic for ya man.

Click me!!!
XBL - Majin Chris PSN - MajinChrissy
Catch my tweets @Chrissycharisma
Aka y2cplan joined 29 Sep 2001
Image
Majin Chris 51
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 03 Jan 2006, 13:43
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: Majin Chris
PSN ID: Majinchrissy

Postby User removed » 10 Feb 2006, 20:13

Thanks, I read similar things on the Gamespot forums. I tried getting a new disc from Game but that didn't help, so I gathered my save was somehow corrupted so i've deleted it and started playing through again!

Serves me right for being tight and always saving over the same game :D
User removed
 

Postby Majin Chris » 11 Feb 2006, 13:22

LOL

Watch out cause i noticed with my Quake 4 save's it takes up 2mg per save :shock: .
XBL - Majin Chris PSN - MajinChrissy
Catch my tweets @Chrissycharisma
Aka y2cplan joined 29 Sep 2001
Image
Majin Chris 51
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 03 Jan 2006, 13:43
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: Majin Chris
PSN ID: Majinchrissy

Postby User removed » 12 Feb 2006, 15:11

Thats why I saved over the same save game every time :D
User removed
 

Postby Majin Chris » 12 Feb 2006, 22:39

Just a quick question for ya jonathan?

Any chance did you unplug your 360 ? (So the internal clock reset it self)
XBL - Majin Chris PSN - MajinChrissy
Catch my tweets @Chrissycharisma
Aka y2cplan joined 29 Sep 2001
Image
Majin Chris 51
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 03 Jan 2006, 13:43
Location: United Kingdom
Xbox Live: Majin Chris
PSN ID: Majinchrissy

Postby User removed » 13 Feb 2006, 21:15

I always unplug my 360, don't trust it not to overheat :D

Anyway, my problem has been fixed! Firstly I took the original copy I had back to Game and swapped it. That didn't fix it on its own but I noticed at the point where it always locked up that the disc stopped spinning and the fan stopped whirring too. This didn't happen with the new disc but the console still locked up.

So, I deleted all my saves and started again and i've just got past the point where it failed last time! So for me it seemed to be a mixture of a dodgy disc and a corrupted save file.
User removed
 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests

The forum teamDelete all forum cookiesAll times are UTC [ DST ]