to join the CVG community. Not a member yet? Join now!
CVG

General Live Set-Up Help

Go here for multiplatform games discussion, past and present

Moderators : CVG Staff, CVG Moderators

General Live Set-Up Help

Postby offspringboy » 01 Feb 2006, 23:46

I'm a novice when it comes to connecting videogame consoles to the internet, that's why I never got Live for my original xbox.
But I want to get it for my 360 when I collect mine on Friday, I have AOL Braodband and would like to download game demos, as I can't get any games for awhile and I heard there is no demo with the unit so I'm stuffed if I don't go live. Can anyone advise me how it sets up, if I can with AOL, how hard is it, what I need to get to go Live etc...
Anyone who could help me with the above will be ace in my books :)
Thanks guys.
offspringboy 43

Postby dinsfire » 01 Feb 2006, 23:47

Hmmmmm.... AOL, not a good start. :wink:
dinsfire 64

Xbox Live: Dinsfire

Postby offspringboy » 02 Feb 2006, 00:07

That was helpfull :lol: anyone else please!
offspringboy 43

Postby illphukiir » 02 Feb 2006, 00:54

Are AOL really that bad?

I'm on 56k AOL and aint had any problems, so what's the big deal with AOL, I've heard many people saying they're shite but after many years still don't know why.

depends what setup you've got offspring, there any wireless devices liek routers n shizzle in your home, or just 1 comp on broadband etc?
illphukiir 60

Postby offspringboy » 02 Feb 2006, 01:06

Okay, I have a BT Voyager Modem connected straight into my PC, I don't mind disconnecting my PC from the internet and just connect my 360 when I use it. Is this possible or do I 'have' to do it another way?
I really don't want to play online, I just want to download demos, do I have to pay for this?
That's pretty much everything I'd like to know, as people are telling me there is no point in having a 360 unless I can get it running online!
Info on above wll be much appreciated.
offspringboy 43